New Residents

Rijksakademie residency 2023–2024

1,200 artists from 109 different countries applied for the 2023 – 2024 residency programme, which starts upcoming September. After an intensive jury process, we are very happy to welcome 21 artists to the Rijksakademie:

Fransisca Angela
nora aurrekoetxea etxebarria
Lisa Barnard
Bo Bosk
Naré Eloyan
Silvia Gatti
Alexandra Hunts
Lili Huston-Herterich
Jackie Karuti
Jort van der Laan
Eunsae Lee
Maksud Ali Mondal
Wynnie Mynerva 
Eniwaye Oluwaseyi
Ada M. Patterson
Sallisa Rosa
Kaili Smith
Thato Toeba
Erik Tlaseca
Jessica Wilson
Nataliya Zuban

The jury for the residency year 23/24 consisted of Rijksakademie advisors, alumni and professionals from the contemporary art field: Ansuya Blom, Banu Cennetoğlu, Isabelle Cornaro, Yael Davids, Erin Gleeson, Anawana Haloba, Metahaven (Daniel van der Velden and Vinca Kruk), Antonio Vega Macotela, Mihnea Mircan, Melvin Moti, Wendelien van Oldenborgh, Christodoulos Panayiotou, María Inés Rodríguez, Natasha Soobramanien, Ho Tzu Nyen and Helen Verhoeven.

Together they searched for artists who work with distinctive, relevant, challenging practices and who will make good use of what the Rijksakademie has to offer – the time, space, facilities and critical dialogue with advisors, technical specialists and peers. Important was a clear artistic position, but also the openness to deepen, broaden or renew their practice, and to connect and contribute to a community of artists with diverse practices.

From September onwards, these 21 artists will join the current first-year residents to form a multidisciplinary, experimental and critically engaged artist community. We are looking forward to welcoming them after the summer!